RIP - Richard Jewell

Discussions of things currently in the news.

RIP - Richard Jewell

Postby Enzo » Fri Aug 31, 2007 4:10 am

Faux bomber of the 1996 Olympics.

Dead at 44 after a long battle with kidney failures. I guess they pissed him off one time too many.

Boy that line would have set Lonewulf off for another week were he still around.
Enzo
Enlightened One
Enlightened One
Chortling with glee!

Postby Dragon Star » Mon Sep 03, 2007 7:31 pm

Judging from the replies here, people really care, huh? :P
Dragon Star
Enlightened One
Enlightened One

Postby Superluminal » Tue Sep 04, 2007 12:25 am

Did they ever catch the real bomber?
I'm not a scientist, but I play one on the internet.
http://www.rrac.org
Superluminal
Puppet Master
Puppet Master

Postby Мастер » Tue Sep 04, 2007 2:48 am

Superluminal wrote:Did they ever catch the real bomber?

I don't know. Wouldn't it be interesting if, while going through his effects, they found evidence that it really was him after all?
They call me Mr Celsius!
Мастер
Злой Мудак
Mauerspecht

Postby pmcolt » Tue Sep 04, 2007 3:07 am

The real culprit (or FBI scapegoat, depending on how paranoid you are) in the Olympic Park bombing was Eric Rudolph, of "bombing abortion clinics, then managing to evade an intensive federal manhunt for five years by hiding in western North Carolina" fame.

Unfortunate, what happened to Richard Jewell. Working as hired security, discovers a suspicious package, helps evacuate the area so that instead of a death toll of hundreds, only two die as a result of the bombing. And rather than being hailed as a hero, the media portrays him as the bomber for years afterward.
Best before June 2000
pmcolt
Puppet Master
Puppet Master

Postby Superluminal » Tue Sep 04, 2007 3:22 am